Today at 11 am I walked into the Khabarovsk Court house. We went through security with no issues - Ole even was allowed to enter with only her Canadian Drivers license as Anna had her passport for her to be registered (Russian Requirement). Quietly we stood and collected our troops near the door. The director (Irina) was there to greet us. Ole began her charming of the director immediately. It wasn't long before her camera was out flashing proud pictures of her son and telling tales of Canada. I watched sadly as another couple came out from the stair way... I can only assume they are adoptive parents - I'd guess they are Spanish... and they didn't look happy - I mean the sort of relieved happy that a family is when they receive happy news. I began to sweat just a little more. I asked if it was OK if I didn't wear my suit jacket over my dress - thankfully it was. We signed in saying that I understood that the details of the adoption prceedure are secret (so don't tell anyone OK?) and headed up to the third floor. It was cooler up there in the lobby - but not in the small court room. I hugged Ole and headed in. Proceedings were formal and almost impersonal. The judge rarely made eye contact with me and I was warned not to smile unless entirely required. I was asked the planned for questions and things went easily. The judge smiled and chukled at some comments from others and my questioning was quickly over (about 20 minutes maybe?). Next, the director spoke followed by the representation from the social worker agency. Each one of us was questioned by the judge and then the prosecutor (forgive me if that is spelled wrong... right now I just don't care!). The judge left to consult with herself for a short (like 2 minutes) time... she returned and read the outcome and I waited on baited breath... she said yes... I am a Mama. I really want to cry right now... as I did just then but it's not the time or place... I'll save that for later. The translator was wonderful to me - I like her a lot. She grabbed my hand as I sat down from speaking and squeezed it tight telling me, "you were perfect. She will have no problems at all with what you said. Perfect. Perfect. You will have a positive outcome". She told me to relax and try and take the process in. I did try and study each person to remember them... but to tell you the truth, if the judge sat down next to me in this internet cafe... I'd have no clue. I did however remember to breathe. Once the ruling was read, the translator grabbed me in the best hug ever... followed next by the director and the social worker... everyone was so happy! We walked out and I hugged Ole... but I didn't cry (did I mention I want(ed) to???) We took some pictures where we were not supposed to and took some good shots outside the court (they will be posted soon). Irina joined us for a fancy lunch where I enjoyed a nice glass of wine (OK - who am I kidding - I have no idea if it was nice... it was red... it went in a glass that looked like it is supposed to hold wine... I breathed... a huge... sigh... of... relief!) The restaurant was close to Annas so we were dropped off and I was able to run and grab the gift I had for Irina. It was nice to give it to her and explain that the big polar bear and babies reminds me of her and the children at the orphanage. She was very happy with the gift. Best news for last? (are you still reading?) I get early custody. I attribute this to Ole's charm and the support she is showing me. Irina recognized that I will take good care and that Corbin should be with his Mama. I heard repeatedly today that between trips he would go to the window and look out and ask, "where is my Mama?"... melts my heart. So, we will gather our forces and google up a storm over the next day to find out where to get the things Irina asked for with the money:
15 new cribs, one fax machine, playground equipment. So, with that, I head into a contented nap, a good dinner with Anna and Ole, a massage on Friday followed by the most famous Russian Ballet - Swan Lake (which everyone is laughing about since I insist on calling it swan river). Life is pretty perfect right now... yes, from a dingey internet cafe in Khabarovsk Russia, I am happy, contented and as the Russians say... very satisfied with the day. In about 4 days, my son will not be alone anymore... and neither will I.
It's been a long way home.
With Much love from Russia
Stacey
Tuesday, June 1, 2010
And finally, the best title yet - I am a Mama
Posted by creation of the nation at 12:47 PM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 Comments:
Post a Comment